Snapshots of China: Through the Mountains

Hello there

This is the second in a series of posts inspired by my trip to China back in 2011, which I have decided to call Snapshots of China. My purpose in doing this is to hopefully dispel some of the negativity surrounding China, as it is my ancestral land.

This time I am taking you through the mountains of Inner Mongolia.

The mountains between Hohhot to Baotou. It was a two hour journey by train which proved to be rather arduous thanks to the endless parade of cigarettes that the locals freely smoked in the carriages. Being someone who is rather sensitive to smells, I cannot say that I enjoyed the experience.

Seeking refuge in the scenery outside my window, I took to the mountains in search of fresh air (so to speak).

“The mountains were his masters. They rimmed in life. They were the cup of reality, beyond growth, beyond struggle and death. They were his absolute unity in the midst of eternal change.”

The last photo here is of the Inner Mongolia Museum (内蒙古博物馆)  in Hohhot city.

As an ancient history buff, I took quite a liking to this place. Full of ethnic treasures!

Don’t forget to follow my blog :)

– K

Leave a reply

